Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Release Day Blitz, Review and Giveaway: Slaying the Dragon by T.K. Leigh

Title: Slaying The Dragon
Series: Deception Duet #2
Author: T.K. Leigh
Genre: Romantic Suspense / Contemporary Romance
 Release Date: October 13, 2015

I should have resisted him, but I couldn’t. My addiction to him was all-consuming, the high from his touch unlike any other.
Without him, I couldn’t focus, couldn’t think, couldn’t breathe.
With him, I hated myself for being too weak to fight the devil himself.
And Tyler Burnham was the devil.
He used me.
He lied to me.

But he loved me. And he still does. 

Unable to stop thinking about the man who deceived her, Mackenzie Delano struggles to move on with her life and forget that Tyler Burnham ever walked into her life. But she still aches for him, despite his betrayal. Her mind is at war with her heart, a war that could be the difference between living and dying. 

Tyler Burnham is lost without Mackenzie. As he contemplates the meaning of everything, he tries to find a way to prove that his feelings for her are true. That he would walk through fire to keep her at his side. That he would sacrifice it all…his career, his fortune, his life…to protect her. 

The truth is, he may just have to… 

Recommended for readers 18 & up due to strong language, explicit sexual situations, and graphic violence.

This is the second book in a two-book duet, which must be read in order. If you have not yet read Chasing The Dragon, please start there.

JUST 99c


#1 Chasing The Dragon



“Wait, Mackenzie!” Tyler cried out after me. “Tell me what you want me to say and I’ll say it! Letting you walk away from me once was the biggest mistake of my life. I won't do it again.” 

I spun around just as I was about to open the front door. “You let me walk away from you?” I hissed, my teeth clenched. 

“That’s not what I meant.” He ran his hands through his dark brown hair and I could see the desperation wash over him. “What I meant to say is all the lies, all of it… I’m so sorry I put you through it. But do you think I regret any of it?” His eyes grew more intense and impassioned, his chest heaving as he poured his heart out to me. “Not for a second.” 

I glared at him, waiting for him to explain. 

“If it wasn’t for all the lies, for my assignment, I never would have met you, so I’m not going to say I regret a fucking second of any of it. I don’t care what it takes to win back your heart. You can push me away all you want. You can tell me you’ll never forgive me, that there will never be an us again, but I will always come back for you. A hundred times. A thousand times. I will fight for us until I take my last breath.” 

He stepped toward me, grabbing my hand in his, caressing my knuckles in such a delicate way that made me want to melt into a puddle. 

“Please, Mackenzie…” He leaned toward me, brushing his lips against my forehead, kissing me so delicately, so lightly. “Serafina,” he whispered, “tell me what it will take and I’ll do it.” 

Despite everything he had just said, I simply couldn’t let him back in. Relationships were based on trust, and Tyler took my trust and used it against me. I couldn’t forget that, no matter how much my skin yearned for his touch. 

“You want to know what it’s going to take?” I asked softly, freeing my hand from his grasp. 

He nodded, nervous anticipation radiating through his body as he looked at me with eager eyes. 

“It’ll take one more time,” I murmured, opening the door. Peering over my shoulder, I saw his deflated expression. “It will always take one more time.”

Slaying the Dragon is the final book in the Deception Duet by T.K. Leigh where every question the reader had after the cliff hanger ending of Chasing the Dragon. Tyler Burnham and Mackenzie Delano left the reader questioning the fate of their relationship due to the never ending sea of lies and deceptions that they fed each other since their clandestine meeting.  Will they make it work or is their relationship doomed?  Will Tyler actually let Mackenzie go like she asked?

When Tyler walks away as Mackenzie asked him to, his heart breaks because it is the last thing that he ever wanted to do.  With his brother Alex, sending him to the other side of the world, Mackenzie is never far from his mind, and although he desperately wants to come home and try to make it right, Alex insists that it is too dangerous.  Tyler resorts to keep a journal of his thoughts, hoping that one day Mackenzie will read it and know how much he loved her and still loves her despite everything that has happened between them.

Mackenzie finally realizes that she made a mistake in sending Tyler away, and decides to go to him, only to discover that he has apparently vanished into thin air.  When she receives news that she never expected, she tries to move on with her life, forgetting about Tyler and what they shared, only to find herself thinking of him every moment.  Rebuilding the walls around her heart that Tyler had torn down in such a short period of time, she doesn't expect to see him again.  

Will Tyler return to Mackenzie?  Will he fight for her?  Will they finally discover the truth surrounding Mackenzie's identity after all these years?  You will have to read to find out!

This an edge of your seat suspense thrown in with some love.

I've changed my guess on who done it about a gagillion times.

We start with the fact that Mackenzie has left Tyler. She is being forced to believe he never existed. She started to question her own sanity... except she was left with a piece of him.

Tyler has left the country on an assignment from his brother but everyday he misses Makenzie more and more.

But the chaos still surrounds them. Can they put all the pieces together before either of them are hurt? Can they survive and move past their past transgressions?

Go one click to find out. You will not be disappointed in the conclusion to this series.

Slaying The Dragon was the final book in the Deception Duet and it is filled with some many twists and turns it had my brain in a whirlwind.  It was a fantastic ending to a great story and I would give it a 5 stars!  Tyler Burnham for me has out shined his brother Alexander Burnham but they will equally always have a place in my mind as amazing book boyfriends.  Now I can't dismiss the heroines in these books because as well all know Olivia was a fantastic heroine but again for me Mackenzie became a shining star too.  I was so intrigued by this story and T.K. Leigh definitely hit this one out of the park.  

I loved how this stories pieces all fell together and honestly I never expected the outcome.  I am hoping that certain other side characters get their stories because I truly would like to see how it would all pan out.. and of course I have my own imagination as to how it would but if I told you it would give away some spoilers in this story .. of course im not going to do that.  I will just leave this review by saying get to one-clicking cause you have to see how this story unfolds! 

Thanks T.K. Leigh for creating such wonderful characters and beautiful stories... I can't wait for more in the near future! 

T.K. Leigh, otherwise known as Tracy Leigh Kellam, is the USA Today Best Selling author of the Beautiful Mess series. Originally from New England, she now resides in sunny Southern California with her husband, dog and three cats, all of which she has rescued (including the husband). When she’s not planted in front of her computer, writing away, she can be found running and training for her next marathon (of which she has run over fifteen fulls and far too many halfs to recall). Unlike Olivia, the main character in her Beautiful Mess series, she has yet to qualify for the Boston Marathon.

T.K. Leigh is represented by Jane Dystel of Dystel & Goderich Literary Management. All publishing inquiries, including audio, foreign, and film rights, should be directed to her.